Night

I got a hole in my heart
It’s filled with decay
It sheds a few ashes
With the passing of day
The wind latches to it
With a second to see
I’m the rubble left of
A broken memory

I’d reach deep inside
I’d look for a beat
But my words are too trapped
And my voice is too weak
When nothing is left
You become the tension and strain
The consumable image
Of the darkest of pain

Tears tell a story
Scars grasp and hold
When nothing is left
There is the essence of cold
When you step to that stair
And you walk down that flight
You take in the pain
And go down with the night

Let me know your thoughts

