Sick Puppies- Poison and Walking Away

I felt like this should be a double mention because it talks about the relationships that we desperately want, yet know that they are toxic. When you take the subject of relationships and calibrate it around the idea that we still try to find reasoning to keep trying, still remind ourselves that we seek that feeling of completion and happiness.

The song poison, to me, speaks of a toxic relationship, the awareness of it, yet the fact despite the pain we still love it and still want it.

 

Poison Lyrics

“Poison”

Here I sleep with one eye open
While you’re dreaming next to me
Well at least I gave up hoping
Some kind of miracle would set me free

Starting over
God only knows where we’ve been
Starting over
Is not an option

You’re like poison on my tongue
So bittersweet, but I like it, I love it
Poison on my tongue
And it keeps killing me, but I like it, I love it

Here’s a pill
Why don’t we take it
Cause I heard it makes it all okay
And wait until we both are naked
Save the bullshit for another day

Starting over
God only knows where we’ve been
Starting over
Is not an option

You’re like poison on my tongue
So bittersweet, but I like it, I love it
Poison on my tongue
And it keeps killing me, but I like it, I love it

You make me wanna jump off a ledge
Find a new life, come back from the dead
Do it again, do it again, do it again
Poison, and it keeps killing me, but I like it, I love it

(On my tongue, like poison on my tongue, she’s like poison)

She’s like poison!

She’s like poison on my tongue
So bittersweet, but I like it, I love it
Poison on my tongue
And it keeps killing me, but I like it, I love it

The song “Walking Away” has to do with the fact of never feeling good enough, feeling like our best efforts are still shy of being what they need to be.

Walking Away Lyrics

“Walking Away”

You mean everything to me, don’t you know?
You’re the thing that brought me back to life
I put you on a pedestal
You said I do, I said you will
Now tell me do you wanna
Keep any of this alive? (Alive?)

Didn’t I didn’t I love you?
Wasn’t I good enough for you?
You’re not walking away
You’re not walking away
(Do you wanna keep this alive?)
You and I, we should be together
You and I, we’re in this forever
You’re not getting away
You’re not getting away

Where would you be without me?
Just ask yourself
No one’s gonna love you like I do
Look into my eyes and see
I could never let you leave
Now tell me do you wanna
Keep any of this alive? (Alive?)

Didn’t I didn’t I love you?
Wasn’t I good enough for you?
You’re not walking away
You’re not walking away
(Don’t you wanna keep this alive?)
You and I, we should be together
You and I, we’re in this forever
You’re not getting away
You’re not getting away

Look at you.
Why are you so beautiful?
You’re my only one
But you make it so hard for me
Just look at what you’ve done

Didn’t I didn’t I love you?
Wasn’t I good enough for you?
You’re not walking away
You’re not walking away
(Do you wanna keep this alive?)
You and I, we should be together
You and I, we’re in this forever
You’re not getting away
You’re not getting away
(Do you wanna keep this alive?)
You’re not getting away
You’re not getting away
(Do you wanna keep this alive?)
You’re not getting away
You’re not getting away

The need to feel cared about and loved tends to be one of those emotional uproars that we all experience, we all want to feel like we belong somewhere, with someone, and experience a feeling of completion. I think these songs are great and deliver exactly those thoughts.

Let me know your thoughts

