Crossroads

I’d paint a picture of what I feel inside
Yet some things are too graphic; too intense
And yet if you meet my gaze; and lock my eyes
Inside you’ll see the noose that’s found its way
With threaded coils of self-defeat
Laced with the dreams I’ll never meet

I may appear so kept together
Years of practice; past the degree
The fairy tale to the facts; the composition that’s me
The journal of a not so precious life

The words that are heard as echoes;
In the right reflection show the fragments of a cry
All of this leading to that point; a gift
Something to look back and remember me by

Every breath feels like inhaled glass
When the futures based from the past
When tomorrow is yesterday
Cause I’m living for what I know I have

And dreams aren’t what I could obtain
But keeping everything the same
It’s the core that keeps us alive
So sit awake with me another night
Cause you’re all I need

Standing at this crossroad; linked to several trails
Too much for a mind that’s scarred; broken; and frail
For every time there was a doubt
When you couldn’t see
Understand there never was; in the heart of me

While I may be cold; I’ve always believed
I may be half a man at heart; I’m all man when it comes to loving you
And I’d test the trial of time
If at the end you were there to find

Cause somethings are worth living for; and others you simply can’t let go
Loving you is not a question- It’s something I’ll forever know

Let me know your thoughts

