Lets Talk Self-Image

imgres

Lets Talk Self-image

It truly is a philosophy: yes, we care about our image. The whole idea that ‘we don’t care’ and the people that say they can ‘look however and be just fine with it’, hey, there are a lot of poor labels out there, this happens to be one of them.

Everyone cares, the fat bastard who has clearly given up on things because he likes sweets so much, he cares, he has just given up because there is not an easy option available to remedy the given problem.

Reiterating on that, sure, you may find a guy who claims he doesn’t give a shit about how he looks, but the truth of the reality is he is a lazy bastard and simply doesn’t want to do anything about it. Before I hear about ‘what if he works a lot and simply doesn’t have time’, well then, the concept of ‘lazy’ wouldn’t apply. Which means going to the next issue at hand, put the chicken wing down.

Changing your self-image all comes down to self-control, either take the time to get some, or don’t bitch about the fact that you are beginning to look like Jabba the Hutt.

Have you ever heard this idiotic phrase?

“No one loves you more than you love yourself.”

It’s stupid, like completely out of control stupid.

I’ve heard it before and honestly, I don’t get it. Consider me a believer in the concept that you should feel good about yourself? Now, don’t get me wrong, the people who walk around like their shit doesn’t stink, well they need a good foot up their ass, but if you simply can appreciate and value yourself, why not?

We should essentially be proud of who we are as people. With each passing year the struggles and challenges we overcome have a way of molding our character, and making us each unique individuals, of course this is something to be proud of.

The people who take every day and remind themselves why they hate themselves, sure, plenty of people exist like this, they are normally the ones you hear about on the news. The stories never have a positive theme.

I feel that not enough people really take the time to appreciate what is good about them. On the opposite side of the spectrum, there are people who lose hope in themselves and stop trying to improve themselves. I don’t feel bad for these people, you are in control of your own self-esteem, well, to an extent. A prime example:

There have been 2 times in my life I have been overweight, once I was 220 pounds, and about a year ago I spiked to 235. Depression had a lot to do with it, but after a certain amount of time I looked at myself and simply said ‘you pathetic shit, get up and do something about it’, we have control over ourselves. You can’t expect people to change your feeling of unhappiness; it’s something you have control over.

I still remember to this day where my wife was like “You are fine, there is nothing wrong with how you look,” finally, one day, she comes around to telling me I’ve gained weight, I flipped. Not because of the criticism, but because I was waiting for the honesty to be slammed in my face months ago and now here I was some fat bastard and I had to do something about it.

Meanwhile my wife is like ‘the kids haven’t eaten all the chicken nuggets, here why don’t you eat them’ YUM YUM YUM, okay, it wasn’t really like that, but in my mind, it’s how it was replayed. Like I was the damn cookie monster, a big trash dumpster, and it was simply like, here, eat more, eat it all! WTF had happened to me?

I now weight around 180, which is healthy for someone 5’9ish. Whereas prior, at the 235 pounds weight class, I was what you could call a modern day ‘dwarf’. Fact is we all want to be able to look at ourselves and go, all right, I’m okay with that. If you are avoiding a mirror like it is a modern day plague, address it, the only shame is the shame of ignorance.

Just believe in yourself

It is so easy to give up, life isn’t meant to be easy. Life is meant to be a consistent routine of sacrifice, an ends to justify the means. We all have to work towards something, and to work towards something you have to believe in yourself.

The second you choose that life is too much for you, then yes, things will fall beyond your control. For the sake of inspiration though understand, everything around you that isn’t you and your own efforts is beyond your control, identify the things that you can change and make an effort to control them, because they are the very things that will decide how you feel about yourself.

The more impact you have on the things you can directly cause change to, the better you will feel bout yourself.

3 thoughts on “Lets Talk Self-Image

  1. Pingback: Self Esteem and Quality of Life | Project i•Am•You

Let me know your thoughts

