All That’s Left

The final breath latches tight
The pain spread well into the night
The pulse inside, a broken tide
A beat that’s lost, I hold and hide

This sense of being alive
Breaks inside and somehow ties
This need I sense in me
Cut wide open, left to bleed

As I spill onto the floor
Inside aches, a living sore
The trail of a sign
Of a life I once called mine

Break into the end
The dark is shading
Life is pretend

As it eats me alive
Capture my eyes
Distort my cries

Inside can’t take much more
This fight inside, what is it for?

As I take a final breath
Hold to my chest all that’s left.

Let me know your thoughts

