The Taste of Loss

The pain seethes beneath the skin
I’m drenched in memories sorrow
The sound of each step overwhelms
The thoughts of ache held for tomorrow

I taste the loss on my tongue
It strips me to the bone
All the while, seeping in
The fact I’m all alone

The tears will strain to portray
The loss that’s held inside a day

I will taste the empty air
The fact I live, absent of care
I can’t bring back to life
All the things no longer there

The absence laces in my eyes
And feeds me to a darker time

I’m nothing, yet everything
The bare segments of a time
The emptiness that’s seeking
Yet has nothing there to find

I taste the loss on my tongue
The seconds there to spare

As I wish the world well
And disappear without a care

Let me know your thoughts

