Pride

imgres

Title: Pride 

The cold shoots through my eyes
The world bends in this pretend
The things I thought I knew
Gave a grin and ran me through

With this blade in my back
I watch it all fade to black
The tarnished void rests inside
The fragments of a living lie

A taste of sorrow, a dash of care
Resentment in the form of prayer

The bruise inside intensifies
Left with myself to confide
The words laced to my veins
A spread of visions bathed in pain

The ghost inside without a name
The thing not meant to be
The yesterday, the scar that’s me
Awaits a breath, no longer me

Trace the jagged, broken road
The me you’ll never get to know

The cracks beneath my feet
Bury whispers of a need
The figure walks, incomplete
And blends with bleeding hopes

The dreams he’ll never know
The places he will never go
To spare himself from tasting loss
Just one last time

Down the tunnel in my eyes
The end where all the secrets hide
The curtains of a broken vow
The person left behind til’ now

Each breath may fill with pain
Met with a world that’s not the same

Yet he will face it as he bleeds
And bring the world to its knees
With each breath laced with fate
He will match with beating hate

With each blow to knock him down
He will rise up from the ground
As the wounds are stitched inside
A pulse will grow and live with pride

Let me know your thoughts

