Shadow

The strain of shame
Forecasts of pain
Every step’s a mile
And every breath is poison

Looking into empty eyes
Broken from the tender lies
A portal into shadows
That are far beyond repair…

Yet they lead somewhere

A bruised soul, past control
A heart that twists into a hole
I’d stitch it shut today
Yet it reminds me…

Who I am

The need to blend
The hope to see
The scattered ash
Of what was me

Defeat tattooed into my eyes

The wind spreads word
Each step forsaken
The weight that grips
With each breath taken

Strands left behind
Between the scars and the tears
The past and tomorrow
The hope and the fears

The aftermath of broken dreams
Stand as hopes ripped at the seam

This loss latched inside
A splint to the bone
Left behind a shadow
At loss with no home

A shadow that stands for all to see
A puppet stands broken, that puppet is me.

4 thoughts on “Shadow

    • Thank you very much 🙂 I am pleased with how this one turned out. Was kind of toying around with different styles and kind of went all over the place haha….but thank you 🙂 appreciate the feedback.

      Sean

      Like

    • Vincent,
      Thank you very much for your kind words. I’m glad that you enjoyed it. If the piece made you feel and apply it to yourself in some way or form then it has done everything I could hope for. Have a great day 🙂
      Sean

      Like

Let me know your thoughts

