Beneath

Shifting time in a broken mind
Drawing stops as a final line
Little did we know, what we see
All the little fragments left of me

Passing on control
As the empty grows
The hole that’s left inside
Passes what we know

Changing life in a script
Pain and loss just the half of it

A heart left on concrete
Slowly fills with self defeat
Catch your breath with a need
A wound will need to bleed

While sorrow threads a name
Nothing stays the same
Weigh the words you speak
Own the pain, shift the blame

I’ve been lost all along
And I can’t stop smiling

The ghosts we lock inside
Memories we hide
The keeper to the scars
That ripple inside time

A reaper to a bruise
With nothing left to lose
Where pain shows resilience
To the things we choose

And I can’t look away
I was built this way

Every breath we swallow
In a life this hollow
Aiding what we see
That this everything is me

That this everything is me
And I will wait to see

I will wait to see what’s beneath it all.

Let me know your thoughts

