Fade Away With a Grin

I’m patching up my soul
This silence is a hole
I tell myself to look away
Before my hand will fold

The bind is getting thick
The heart is getting sick
The trails in these eyes
Are void, lost in abyss

The chain breaks that has you bound
Left as a ghost, forgotten now

Dreams are drenched with despair
Breathing cold from the air
The silence of a moment spreads
As voices plague and tear

Burden stamps the broken mind
Empty whisper, threads of time
It leaves me walking, still inside
As things pass without a sign

The ghosts of yesterday
Forgotten as if never there

Every breath a false start
As exhaust makes it’s mark
Sewing up the shadows left
A broke and bleeding heart

Carve the whispers in my soul
sacrifice this stand as toll
The gateway leading to my hell
As ignorance becomes control

In a trance under a spell
From everything I couldn’t have

Crossroads left without a voice
Undeserving of a choice
Every step echoes defeat
Desires that we never meet

Shattered fragments smashed inside
True intentions that we hide
With my back against the wall
Reaching for all that’s denied

Moments that are meant to be
And everything in between

The cold chill tied to the eyes
Exposure to the darkest lies
The road we take to survive
And what becomes deep inside

Ice laces deep within
The cold inside, warmth getting thin
I close my eyes to embrace

And fade away with a grin

2 thoughts on “Fade Away With a Grin

  1. Another deeply felt, and sorrowful poem. This beautifully and painfully describes those of us who truly know what pain is:

    Shattered fragments smashed inside
    True intentions that we hide
    With my back against the wall
    Reaching for all that’s denied

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know your thoughts

