Twists of Time

Remnants of the past
Scattered, withered ashes
Things that couldn’t last
And things chosen not to be
Silhouettes haunt my thought
And tease with the what if’s

Mirrored moments, tied to me
Straining all I try to see

A tranquil emptiness
Threads inside a dream
Shadowing every step
Stitched seam after seam
Moisture on the brow
A sanity’s mercy on display

With every breath inhaled
Comes the chance for another

Clutching at the cornerstone
With nothing left to hide
A smile painted on my face
A dare stamped in my eyes
Inviting the unwelcome
Nothing can touch me now

Chaos forged around the soul
Lays, all forgotten now

A fixation on the sun
As it falls beneath the cloud
Chills race up my spine
The familiar scent of yesterday
The welcoming of tomorrow
Unfolds in a matter of moments

And twists inside a shade
A constant twist of time.

2 thoughts on “Twists of Time

Let me know your thoughts

