Breathing

Inside a pool of loss
Stitched in varied shade
Losing count of the costs
And the hopes as they caved

Grief, a skin I wear
With a taste for despair
I can’t seem to get away
Shadows wait, forever there

Eyes strain, wide-awake
Every breath I forsake
Worn smiles spread
While sewing thread to a fate

Holding on, I lie in wait
Carving holes inside of hate
I’m pressing on for more
As I clean a dirty slate

It’s that one step toward something new
Where breathing feels easy again.

Let me know your thoughts

